Jesper Just. Filmworks 2001-2007

CATALOGUE – Jesper Just: Film Works 2001-2007

Jesper Just’s films are moody, atmospheric narratives often with ambiguous and unresolved storylines. Thematically, his film works revolve around “the complex inter-relations between sexuality, love and cinema.” Many of his older films specifically question conventional notions of masculinity. Nina Folkersma writes: “A real man is supposed to contain his emotions, to be inviolable, intellectual, pragmatic, virile, and dominant. That, at least, is the image of man portrayed in most Hollywood films. Transgressing social and cinematographic conventional representations of masculinity is a crucial element of Just’s work.”

At almost 250 pages, this substantial new publication includes a wide range of images, including documentation of a recent shoot in Copenhagen, and a selection of musical scores by composer and conductor Petri Sirviö, Just’s collaborator on the 2006 trilogy, It Will All End In Tears.

The publication appeared on the occasion of the exhibition Jesper Just in Witte de With, Rotterdam (March 3 – May 6, 2007), the Ursula Blickle Foundation, Kraichtal (March 4 – April 15, 2007), and S.M.A.K., Ghent (April 21 – June 24, 2007). The exhibition Jesper Just at the Ursula Blickle Foundation and Witte de With is curated by Nicolaus Schafhausen and Sophie von Olfers with the support of the Danish Arts Council. The exhibition at S.M.A.K. is curated by Nina Folkersma.

Number of copies: 2000; English / German / Dutch
Editor: Sophie von Olfers
Copy editors: Solange de Boer, Nina Folkersma, Zoë Gray, Sophie von Olfers, Katja Schröder
Design: Atelier Carvalho Bernau, The Hague
Production: Solange de Boer
Printed by Calff & Meischke, Amsterdam
Publishers: S.M.A.K., Ghent, Ursula Blickle Foundation, Kraichtal, Witte de With, Rotterdam
Size: 150 x 240 mm, number of pages 244
Illustrations: 321 color; 77 bl-w
ISBN: 978-90-73362-73-4

– Preface by Sophie von Olfers
An introduction to Jesper Just by Nina Folkersma
– Film works: No Man Is an Island, Invitation to Love, A Fine Romance, Something to Love, Bliss and Heaven
-Only you can make this world seem right by Andrew Renton
– Film works: A Little Fall of Rain, And Dreaming is Nursed in Darkness, It Will All End In Tears, The Lonely Villa, A Vicious Undertow
– Waltz of the middle-aged woman by Jacob Lillemose
– Index to Tears by Ilsa Colsell
– Music scores by Petri Sirviö: Utilegumenn and I’ve Got You Under My Skin
– Film credits
– Production stills
– Biography

The book is available at Witte de With and via the following distributors:

D.A.P., New York (USA only)
e-mail, phone +1 212 627 1999

Cornerhouse, Manchester (UK and Ireland only)
e-mail, phone +44 161 2001503

Idea Books (The Netherlands and all other countries)
e-mail:, phone: +31 (0)20 6226154